Book Review: Within

I just bought the book “Within” by Jane Richmond and Shannon Cook after hearing about it on the Grocery Girls Podcast :

(you must watch them!  They are so awesome!)  The Girls even have a KAL set up on ravelry called the BFF KAL in honor of the authors.  You can pick a pattern by either and complete it by March 31st.  That is plenty of time and motivation.

http://www.ravelry.com/discuss/grocery-girls-podcast/3554158/1-25

This book is so good for just the photography.  I mean, really, you don’t even have to knit a THING.  Just look at the pictures.  But that, of course, is so silly.  I’m going to knit the sweater called Fireside which uses Cascade Eco Wool.  I’m still deciding on the color now but I’ve got a few squirreled away to pick from.  Imagine having yarn squirreled away.  Nuts, I say!

The book has 6 patterns inside and states that they will warm the soul.  Nothing sounds better to me then that.  You can pick from sweaters to cozy accessories.  The Hudson Shawl is making me drool.  The Entwine Scarf is a super bulky scarf that probably will be my best friend.  Quick knits always rule in my book.  A nice little feature included is there is a page with pattern stitch counts or schematics that is printed on a black page with white ink.  I am amazed at how easy it is to read on that background.  Well done!

fullsizerender83

I had a fun time looking up each author on ravelry to see what other lovelies they have created.  I invite you to do the same!

-Here’s my Pot O’ Gold-this moment-

Knitting to warm my soul-y yours,

Shana

Leave a Reply

