Super Bowl Knitting

Yay!  It’s the day of snacks and knitting!  The Super Bowl:  what commercial will be the favorite?  Oh, I mean which team will win?  (who cares…it’s not the Packers…hahahaha)

Just reminiscing today about a year ago when I was able to travel to my hometown of Beatrice, Nebraska to see my Dad for his 80th Birthday Surprise visit.  I took two kids with me and we traveled across Wisconsin, Iowa, and finally Nebraska in pretty nice weather, maybe 40 degrees.  We surprised the birthday boy and it was a great time…until the icy sleet and then snow started in the afternoon of the party.  Sunday morning we were supposed to head back home and wouldn’t you know it…we were stuck.  We actually were snowed in.  So we were going to watch the Super Bowl right there.  Oh, but did I tell you the satellite dish was iced up and there was no TV and my phone was in roaming so Sprint had just cut off my usage?  WHAT???  What do people do with no TV or smart phones?  Luckily I had some socks to knit and also a pair to repair from my Dad’s previous gift pair.  My kids had to do homework and then hang out with the grandparents.  That lasted a few hours and then we were dying for TV so it was time to send Tommy up on a ladder outside to knock ice off the dish.  He braved the Nebraska winds and snow successfully without even griping and we had TV.

1931

I usually make chili for the Super Bowl so I was a little worried we wouldn’t be able to eat our traditional food and then another miracle happened. The grandparents had some chili in the freezer!  Score!  We were really living it up.  It was a pretty fun time being snowed in.  (it really was a treasure of a time)

The next day we had to head back.  (Did you know that 5 minutes outside of Beatrice, Nebraska Sprint service comes back to you?)  I was sure glad we didn’t try and drive the day before.  There must have been 100 cars in the ditch and more semis than I could count the whole way to Des Moines, Iowa.  Yikes. Even driving the next day was white-knuckle experiences.  I had cramps in my hands after gripping the wheel so tightly.  (lucky I knit and have pretty in-shape hands!)   I also learned that Windshield Wiper Wash doesn’t do you any good if the little squirty things are frozen and buried under ice on your car.  After Des Moines to Wisconsin it was smooth sailing.  Pretty sure I won’t be venturing out on another long trip like that for a while in the winter.  Hey, unless someone’s having a party and there’s cake.

IMG_9066

So what are YOU going to work on in between snacks and chili for this Super Knitting Day?

A few posts back I had pictures of a project I had just finished for a special baby.  Here’s the baby wearing my football baby cocoon:

IMG_1271

Got to like it when a plan comes together!  AND when someone takes a picture for you of such a cutie pie wearing your knitting!

Yesterday I was trying to organize my needles and maybe some of my bags of projects that I’ve put on snooze.  Yep, trying to get my creative space in shape along with of course and always, the bod.  I found this over the door hanging organizer for just a few dollars at the store and think maybe, just maybe this will be the thing that really keeps me on task to finish projects.  (do you believe what I am saying?)  Well, it’s a start.

IMG_9056

What organizing tips do you have for me?  I need lots of them.

Now I am going to ponder:  shall I work on one of my current WIP or start another??

I found this really neat pattern on ravelry…  haha…  check out my facebook page and see all of the ones that catch my eye, er eyes.  There are enough for a couple 100 blizzards.

Not snowed in this year-ily yours,

-Here’s my pot o’gold-this moment!-

Shana

 

Leave a Reply

