Knitting Ode to Alan Rickman

1074

Such a sad thing to hear about Alan Rickman’s death today.  He was a great one.  I just watched Galaxy Quest a couple of weeks ago.  He fancied up whatever he was in.  Die Hard and Robin Hood-Prince of Thieves were awesome and then there’s of course Harry Potter.  What a contribution.  There’s going to be a Harry Potter marathon in my house soon.  Knitting Harry Potter fans have a lot of options of things to create to help remember this actor who gave us so many memories through his character.

http://www.usatoday.com/story/life/movies/2016/01/14/alan-rickman-stage-and-screen-master-dies-69/78782042/

wands-1426630470-1445831148-1452785451

Raise your wands or even your needles, people.

Here are a couple of patterns found on Ravelry featuring Snape (pics on my facebook page):

Socks:

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/snapes-stockings

Finger puppets (this one is crochet):

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/pocket-potter-puppet-pals-adults

Do you remember the knitting book Charmed Knits by Alison Hansel?  You could make sweaters, socks, scarves, and more for your favorite character or houses.  Oh such sweet and fun times my family and I had waiting for new books to be released.  We would go to our little bookstore before midnight and wait until that precious prize was in our hands.  My kids stayed up all night reading the new books.  When we went to the movies we always went to the midnight showing.  I even had light up knitting needles that I brought along.  Mrs. Weasley is one pretty amazing knitter.  Kinda jealous about those needles that just knit by themselves.

charmed knits

Visit pinterest and see what you can find:

https://www.pinterest.com/explore/harry-potter-knit/

Also check this blog out for everything Potter:

http://bigknittingtrouble.blogspot.com/2011_07_01_archive.html

Right now I have on the needles a Harry Potter initial sweater.  I’m not sure who is going to get this but I better hurry up so I can add the right letter.  I would love to knit all my friends their own initial sweater and deliver them via owl.  I will definitely need some of those magic needles to finish that many sweaters.  Buffy thinks this sweater might be for her.

FullSizeRender(18)

(Oops, I have a ways to go if I’m knitting this for Buffy.  She  may want pink.)

Here’s the link to the initial sweater pattern by Alison Hansel…it’s FREE!:

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/the-weasley-sweater

I saw a quote from Alan Rickman that was just plain awesome:

“I do take my work seriously and the way to do that is not to take yourself too seriously.”

I thank you for all of the great memories, Alan Rickman.  What a loss.

Carry on, people.

Wizardly and envying the magic needles-y yours,

-Here’s my pot o’ gold-this moment.

Shana

4 thoughts on “Knitting Ode to Alan Rickman

  1. Reading about this just reminded me of the great actor we lost. I think fondly of Alan Rickman in so many roles, and he’s a great example of a late bloomer who just followed his dream and made it.

    Thanks for the sock pattern, I knew about Hermione’s Everyday Socks but not this one. It’s queued!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

