Knit a big ol’ hat! You’re a daisy if you do!

IMG_8679

Hey!  Who’s a daisy?

Have you ever watched the movie Tombstone?  It’s one of my favorite movies OF ALL TIME.  Go watch it if you haven’t.  I’m your huckleberry.

Anyway I always think of that movie when I hear “Daisy” in anything.  Doc Holliday was a colorful conversationalist.  You can click the link below to see what I’m talking about:

http://elenasandidge.com/2014/08/02/im-your-huckleberry-a-guide-to-doc-holliday-slang/

Pictured above on my beautiful model is my Daisy Stitch hat made with Debbie Bliss Como yarn from her book titled Como.

IMG_8693

Have you ever tried the Daisy Stitch?  If you want to add a cool stitch pattern, I’m your daisy.  (doesn’t get old for me)

This pattern is done by doing four rows over a stitch count multiple of 4 plus one stitch:

Row one:  All Knit stitches

Row two:  Knit the first stitch, *purl the next 3 stitches together but don’t take them off the left needle, then do a yarn over, then purl those same 3 stitches together again and off the left needle and knit one* (repeat * to end).

Row three:  All Knit stitches

Row four:  K1, P1, K1 *Purl the next 3 stitches together but don’t take them off the left needle, then do a yarn over, then purl those same 3 stitches together again and off the needle, K1* to last 2 stitches and then p1, K1.

Below:  Purl 3 together:

IMG_8682

It’s just a neat little pattern when all said and done.  It also breaks up the clouds on a gloomy day!  Daisies do that.

IMG_8689

Here are a couple of daisy stitch patterns from Ravelry that caught my eye that I may just try sooner than later on those gloomy gray days:

(pictures will show up on my facebook page)

These are cute Daisy Stitch Mittens that look really squishy and nice:

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/daisy-stitch-mittens

Beautiful slouch hat:

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/hinagiku-hat

Yeah!  Go get it, daisy!

-Here’s my pot o’gold-this moment!

Daisily and huckleberrily yours,

Shana

One thought on “Knit a big ol’ hat! You’re a daisy if you do!

Leave a Reply

